About beginning DirectX !

Started by
1 comment, last by jbadams 19 years, 3 months ago
i'm just learning Directx with my first game programming book 'Role playing game programming with directx ' for a week(now i'm reading Direct3D). So i need some advise from u : 1.There're many function,component to setup Direct3D and many members of function.Can u remember all of these ? It's require to remember them? 2.How did u learn DirextX by yourself (with your books) at the begining? 3.I usaully lazy to wrote every codes .So i used to copy some codes from book's CD to my project (but i know what that codes to do).Is this a bad behavior? Now,for me, i'm reading my book and doing along .I know step for setup DX3D but can't remember all code .So i have to open my book to see it's syntax.
Advertisement
i think the best skill you can hone when trying to learn DirectX or any API really is the ability to look things up in the documentation or elsewhere.

1) I don't remember all the functions. I have a general idea of what the interfaces are and what they are capable of but I have to go look up the exact functions and parameters almost each time I use them.

2) Books can be good when you are starting off to give you a foundation to fall back on when everything else fails. However, you will be able to learn more in a much faster manner by using this site here as well as other internet resources.

3) It is really tempting to just copy code. I find that when I do this I don't fully understand what is going on. I guess it varies from person to person though.

Here is a good start: Start Here