• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Using 'new' and 'delete' on proper games consoles

This topic is 4853 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I was just wondering if anyone knew how 'new' and 'delete' would work on (proper) games consoles. I say 'proper' because I am not including things like PS2 Linux. I mean consoles in which you have direct access to the physical memory of the machine. It's just that I know that even on certain modern consoles, you have to declare and manage a heap yourself (even if the manufacturer provides libraries that can do this, you still have to use those libraries). I'd be grateful if anyone with console programming experience would explain how heap management happens on these machines and how does this affect the development of multi-platform games? Cheers

Advertisement
I have no real experience, so take this with a grain of salt, but I'm doubtful that it's quite as bad as you imaging on all consoles. Remember that Xbox, for instance, is very similar to a computer. I'm sure it would have good memory management.

For other similiar environments (I've never programmed consoles specifically) like embedded pc's or use of C++ in an OS kernel what you typically do is override global new and delete to do whatever it is you have to do.

You still end up managing the heap yourself but it still looks like plain ol' C++.