• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
shvalb

Running Graphics without a Window Handle

This topic is 5062 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I'm a beginner in Direct-X and I work on a project that uses Direct-X and in this project we open a Window and render geometry objects to the screen and taking the output and creating Avi files from it. (I hope I describe it well) My assignment is to eliminate the window, meaning, do all the rendering and everything but without displaying it to the screen, is that possible ?? if YES, how ?? Thanks!

Advertisement
When you call the Present() function for your Direct3D device, it has a parameter called hDestWindowOverride, which I guess you could use to change the window the data outputs to. If this window was hidden then the contents wouldn't be displayed.

However, another way would be to get the current render target and read the data from it. This is done using the GetRenderTarget() method of the Direct3D device. This returns you a surface which you can then call LockRect() on and get the memory with the information in.

Some example code (not totally complete or correct!)

IDirect3DSurface9 *renderTargetSurface = NULL;

D3DDevice->GetRenderTarget(0, &renderTargetSurface);

D3DLOCKED_RECT lockedRect;

renderTargetSurface->LockRect(lockedRect, NULL, 0);

// read your data however you want from lockedRect.pBits...

renderTargetSurface->UnlockRect();

renderTargetSurface->Release();

You may choose to write over the data in the surface so it's black again, so when you call Present() (if you choose to) it doesn't render anything to the window except blankness.

-Mezz

It is my understanding that you can pass NULL as a window handle, and DX will use the desktop in place of the window. I haven't actually gotten this to work myself, but I haven't fooled around with it that much.