• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Joshnathan

Level editor tutorial for SDL

This topic is 4975 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi everyone! First of all, I want to know if i would be ABLE to create a level editor. I have been programming for about 4 months now and I know (at least I hope so), more then only the real basics of c++. My best work till now was a pong clone. If you would want to take a look at it before you say anything, you can get the code here. The info I can give you on my programming experience is that I have done www.gametutorials.com tutorials till about page 5-6 and I know how to use them. I hope you guys can AT LEAST give me a tutorial, and if you have time tell me if it would be possible to create a map editor myself...

Advertisement
Well IMHO I would say of course you would be able to make a map editor - but the question is would you be willing to spend the time on it? If so, what would it be used for - a map editor makes maps for a certain type of game - so if you do not have a game yet to use it on - then you should make another game first. I would say make breakout - then you can make a map editor to make the different levels. As soon as you know what you want to do and all of the specifications, making it should not be so hard - but making a nice one will be challenging. I'll beck this message back and give you some ideas after you reply if you are intrested.

I am interested a lot.