no-messages to WindowProc()

Started by
10 comments, last by Ninja_Mouse 19 years, 3 months ago
Hi there - I am a noob to C++ and was hoping someone could help me out. I have been reading "Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX 9" by Jim Adams and can't seem to replicate some of his code (I'm using Visual Studio .NET 2002). The problem - If I use the CreateWindow() function (for the main window) everything is fine, but if I use the CreateDialog() function to make a window from a dialog resource I get my problem. The window from CreateDialog() appears fine but the WindowProc function is never called and thus I can't catch any messages. I don't know if it is because I haven't set up the dialog resource correctly. If I run the source code from the book's CD (which is the code I just copied word for word and couldn't run) then it runs fine. But if I add a dialog resource and then alter the CreateDialog() function to run my dialog rather than the one they made I get the same no-messages problem. If anyone has any ideas on solving my no-messages with CreateDialog() problem please let me know. Thanks in advance, Farran
Advertisement
Depends... You usually specify dialog's procedure in the CreateDialog function, but if the dialog is meant to be the main window, you usually register a class for the given dialog and you specify your dialog procedure there... You also have to specify the name of the window class in the DIALOG resouce.

Could you post some code, please? [smile]

Oxyd
Soz, I don't know how to put the code in those little boxes, but here it is:

#include <windows.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include "resource.h"

// Application variables ////////////////////////
HWND g_hWnd; // Window handle
char g_szClass[] = "KeyboardDemo"; // Class name

// Application prototypes ///////////////////////
int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInst, HINSTANCE hPrev, LPSTR szCmdLine, int nCmdShow);
LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hWnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam);