Sign in to follow this  

One device / render target?

This topic is 4715 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new at direct3d programming so forgive me if this is a stupid question. Are you supposed to have one device for each rendering target (I call it viewport - correct terminology?) the application might use? Say I want to create a scene editor that renders my scene from four different views: top, left, right and free. The top, left and right using ortohgraphic projection and free using perspective. How do you do this in direct3d? I need to know this so I know how to design my renderer.

You should definitely have single device. Create multiple render targets if you need but from single device.

The quote below is taken from http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dndxgen/html/directx9devfaq.asp

Quote:
Use only a single Direct3D device. If you need to render to multiple targets, use SetRenderTarget. If you are creating a windowed application with multiple 3D windows, use the CreateAdditionalSwapChain API. The runtime is optimized for a single device and there is a considerable speed penalty for using multiple devices.

GL! :)

Lots of ways to do things depending on what you want...

To draw to a section of a render target texture or section of the back buffer you can use SetViewport.

You can copy the backbuffer to a window using Present(). You can use it to draw to different windows. Present will scale the backbuffer to fit the window... like a StretchBlit. This can mean you draw many times the resolution of the window, wasting fill time, and GPU memory, then causing a slow (well actually it's fairly fast) stretch blit.