Sign in to follow this  

P.R.T. and Terrain Rendering

This topic is 4710 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, I've just been discussing possible projects with a mentor, and as an offshoot of original discussions I was thinking about combining terrain rendering and Pre Computer Radiance Transfer / Spherical Harmonic Lighting. I had a look on google and some of my other haunts but couldn't find any good examples of it having been done. Has anyone here seen it attempted? I'm no expert on SH/PRT lighting, but I've read the basics and looked at the DX-SDK implementation. One of the key requirements is the "single texel mapping", that is, one pixel in a texture maps to only one part of the geometry - a factor that is often a basic feature of terrain texture maps... The other being that the geometry is static and only the lights are dynamic, again, another common feature of terrain engines. Apart from the potentially huge pre-processing and data storage requirements, once up and running I could imagine it would be an impressive demo - especially with the global illumination like qualities (soft shadows/diffuse reflections..). Any thoughts on something like this? Do-able (or already done!)? Cheers, Jack

It's certainly doable and heightmaps make the implementation easier since both ray tracing and the unique texture mapping are simplified. Terrains are also mainly lit by the sky/sun which are very far away which is another assumption of PRT, so that also makes it suitable. However, you'll have poor results trying to get sharp shadows from the sun on a clear day with PRT so you'll probably have to combine it with simple direct lighting perhaps utilising shadow mapping for shadows, to get good results.

Quote:
However, you'll have poor results trying to get sharp shadows from the sun on a clear day with PRT