Vertex Array problem

Started by
33 comments, last by azjerei 19 years, 2 months ago
I am pondering on the idea of adding vertex arrays to my game engine, to see if I can get that extra speed boost I need. Though.. I see multiple things becoming unclear should I proceed and implement these: 1. I can no longer do a collision check against the rendered poly. I will probably have to do that in a separate function on a per-object basis. 2. I can no longer cull any vertices not within my frustum. 3. I can no longer apply my own lighting to faces that are within a light's distance. How would I be able to do these things? #1 is probably doable as I wrote, but the other two should be near impossible if I let a vertex array take care of the drawing for me...
Advertisement
2 can be solved just like 1. Perform culling in a separate function on a per-object basis. Precalculating a simplified convex model out of the original mesh may boost your performance.
I'm just learning about vertex arrays, but I think the array size can be whatever you decide, like, a portion of a models vertices, a portion of a terrain, etc. The faces are drawn from an indice array that points to a vertex array. I've only used one for drawing a box, so I don't know much. I would think they could be used for level of detail work, etc.

I found this powerpoint(translated to html) that helped me understand them a little better:
http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:nyXEGIKVixMJ:www.cs.dal.ca/~sbrooks/csci3161/lectures/files/18-PolygonalModels-x2.pdf+glDrawElements+example&hl=en
I have nearly the same problem as you... I'm also thinking about integrating vertex arrays into a engine...

But I think thak a good way would be to create data structures that will hold every information about the 3d objects ( Vertex -> Poly -> Object ) and than put all of the data into one (or several) arrays - into a Rendering List.