I'm a newbie,and how can I start?any suggestion

Started by
8 comments, last by gangway 23 years, 5 months ago
I''m a programmer,and like painting.more imagination.
Advertisement
you must decide what you like to do ? there are lots of different ways to get in on the creation of a game. If you can program (like your post says), then I would suggest making a small (very small) game to test your abilities and see where you stand. If you can create something on your own then people will see you can succeed and will be more likely to help you with other projects are let you on their team. If you have never programmed anything before, then I would make something REALLY simple. Like maybe a number guesing game in text. That was the very first thing I did way back when. Then I added a best score on the number guessing game (fewest guesses), then I added an all-time record to it. You can just keep building on simple little things like that to help teach yourself how different parts fit together.
But if you havent programmed before then do one of two things.......try to help out with art/story/whatever, or learn to program. I would suggest C++, but my opinion is biased since i love c++ and know all (almost) of it from the inside out. But visual basic is supposed to be pretty easy to pick up, and then there is Java that is platform independant and good for web browser stuff.
If you want to learn to program then click on the "New? Start Here" button on the main page of this site.

"Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time"
- Monty Python and the Holy Grail
themGames Productions

Read a book like Windows game programming for dummies, that kewl. Then, make a simple but amusing game. What I did was a network game with directx.
foobar
If you want program for your job in future you should choose C++ or Java. C++ is *best* language. Visual basic is good for newbies but you can´t do anything very professional with it.

But howto start:

Read two C++ books.