Sign in to follow this  
jmszczap82

How does one approach this task?...

Hi, Let's say I want a game sort of like Columns, where you have to match 3 or more colors, horizontally, vertically or diagonally. How would I go about doing this? That is, being a newbie, I don't know what programming steps I'd need to take, what functions I'd need, what variables I'd need, etc. In general, I don't know enough to have a clue as to what things need to be done/taken into consideration. Can someone give me at least a general summary of what I'd need to do? Thanks in advance... - JS

well u could store everything in a 2d array

int width = 10;
int height = 20;

int array[10][20];

and its pritty quick to scan through the array to check for what you need

What are you trying to accomplish? Something like connect 4 I presume. You'd have your game board and then go through a nice handy loop checking to see if any are in sequence. If you're L337, you'd create a recursive function to check.

hopefully I'm correct in guessing that you know how to program in the language that you want to program your game in? Otherwise your best bet is to learn the language before programming a game. I've seen some intro to programming tutorials that use game development, but they are few and far between.

You would probably start off designing the structure.

The only problem with designing is that you really have to have some idea how you are going to program it. Designing is one of those things that you pick up as you get better at programming.

Probably the first thing you will want to work out is how you are going to store the game information.

What language are you using? With the example that you have chosen this doesn't make a huge difference but as you progress to more compilcated games it becomes more important. The language you choose normally dictates the structure of your program.