Sign in to follow this  

GAME dev. requirements...

This topic is 4693 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, I'm new to this world of game programming (although rather experienced programmer, at least I want to believe it ;) ) and was wondering what can I do to speed up the starting phase of development of a game. As far as I learned during the past few weeks, it's almost impossible for a begginer to write a good rendering engine, not to say full-featured Game engine. (In fact it's a big challenge even to experienced team of programmers..) I've encountered a lot of great stuff around the net and that abundance is now just confusing me instead of helping me to decide where to start.. Could somebody please make the things somewhat clearer for me? Let's say we want to make (hypothetically) High quality 3D FirstPerson MMORPG with advanced NPC's AI. So first we don't want to buy some fancy all-in-one Game Engine (I doubt anything like that even exist...) so I've tried to find something free. What i found was this: OGRE - 3D Gaphics Engine (seems to be amazing) ODE - Dynamics Engine OpenSceneGraph - 3D engine (Game engine???) AI - ??? (i don't suppose there's something like AI engine ;)) Scripting - ??? Networking - ??? 3D art work - ??? Other - ??? I've also found lots of other thigs like, Torque (which is not free, though not very expensive either), lots of low-level libraries and engines etc, etc, etc. What is your experience? Is it better take what is already made and simply use it, or go our own way through everything? Thank you very much for your advices and opinions. Yanco