Sign in to follow this  

Something unusual in Cone3d SDL tutorial

This topic is 4693 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just started learning the SDL with the great SDL tutorials at Cone3d site. There's something unusual i've noticed though (for me atleast) , why does the author in the following link use C functions (I/O) beside classes? http://cone3d.gamedev.net/cgi-bin/index.pl?page=tutorials/gfxsdl/tut3 Shouldn't he stick to one language? I think it'd better if it was C++ only another thing , is he using a common method to use and animate sprites?

Quote:
Original post by Coder21
I just started learning the SDL with the great SDL tutorials at Cone3d site. There's something unusual i've noticed though (for me atleast) , why does the author in the following link use C functions (I/O) beside classes?

http://cone3d.gamedev.net/cgi-bin/index.pl?page=tutorials/gfxsdl/tut3

Shouldn't he stick to one language? I think it'd better if it was C++ only

another thing , is he using a common method to use and animate sprites?

Well there is no definite answer, but one thing to keep in mind is that everyone has their preferences. I know I never used to use the C style IO unitl recently with my audio library, and I like it a lot more over C++ styled IO. I think it is much cleaner and faster, but this isn't about that, so I'll stop there.

Another thing you have to keep in mind is that this is a free article written in his own time. Sure, it probabally would be better for him to use consistant language functions, but at the time he wrote this, he choose what seemed like the best way to present the information. Usually using all C or all C++ is not the way to get something done though.