Sign in to follow this  

Portfolio project

This topic is 4688 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, After having taken a glance at an article regarding the creation of MMOG's, I've come around to thinking about the length of time my project is taking. Now I am not trying to create an MMOG, but what I'm making isn't far off (a small scale online RPG). As anyone who has followed my posts may know, the project has been going on for a long time. Now I'm not a clueless newbie by any means, I've completed smaller projects in the past, and have been working wih C++/DirectX now for around 5+ years on and off. I guess I could quite easily finish a smaller project, if I really put my mind to it. My ultimate goal being to complete a portfolio of work to show a potential employer. My problem is simply that it is taking too long, and I'd like to be pushing to apply for jobs within the next year at the worst. Now a piece of advice from this article towards making portfolio work is that you should make something simple and innovative that you can complete realistically in 3 months time. I wonder though what peoples opinions on this are? Is it really feasible to create something of a high enough level of complexity and quality within this time? I ask because I personally think that a project I completed within 3 months would probably not be all that impressive. Sure I may be able to pack it full of fun gameplay, but I don't think gameplay counts for all that much when what they are likely to be looking for is coding ability and understanding of advanced topics. I suppose this depends exactly what area of game programming you are after getting into, but for the sake of arguement and flexibility, lets say that it is just your average standard programmer (not specifically tools, or graphics, or sound or whatever). Do you think this is real