Sign in to follow this  

3d sprite

This topic is 4681 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I was wondering about 3d sprites; specifically how are they made and what type of programming requirements are there? How do these requirements for implementation stack up against true 3d graphics of 2d sprite graphics in terms of difficulty.(Im talking 3d sprites like those found on Xenogears for the Playstation.) Also, How could I begin to model my own, do I need to use a 3d drawing program and then map the pixelation onto the model, or do I draw like every 5th degree of the figure in paint (I think thats 36 pictures and then mirroring them to make the opposite side) As you can tell I dont know much about programming, nor about sprite graphics and i'm only a beggining artist but I want to know more about this graphics type before contacting a programmer about it, thanks for your help.

I'm slightly confused about what you are asking because of your terminology.
By 3d sprite do you mean 'animated 3d model?'

I'll try to answer though :)

The 3d sprites in Xenogears are simply multiple 2D sprites that switch when the viewing angle changes above a certain threshold.
You just need a telented artist to do this, no 3d program needed to create the actual sprites. And yes, its a heck of a lot of frames even for a character with few animations. Programming wise it's pretty easy to implement this,
you could have a variable
float horizontalRotation
and float verticalRotation
You round these off depending on how many angles you want on your sprite, then use it to index into the sprites texture.

As for true '3d sprites' you need a mesh editor like blender or milkshape.