Sign in to follow this  

A true newbie in game programming asks simplest question.

This topic is 4690 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to programming. I have been studying c++ relentlessly as well as browsing some game programming books. What are "the" actual first few steps in making a game such as a side shooter...(and I do mean THE first few baby steps such as where specifically to starting the code)... and can I use microsoft visual c++ compiler for decent results?? Lastly, should I focus more on OpenGL or Direct X as I plan to be a graphics programmer over the yrs. Thanks in advance!

The first things to do:
Make very simpel math programs, then try to exploit these programs a little more.
Make a window! Init DX or OGL and start making things you like :D

I'm using DX but OpenGl has some features I like over DX.
I can't help you with that.

Probably there are a lot of things to do before starting programming games... you should be sure that your c++ skills are good, learn a bit of math and some related algorithms.
Anyway VC++ should be OK (but it depends: which version? 6 is min, but 2003 compiler is very good).
There is a big difference in programming style and features between DX and OGL: DX contains also a lot of stuff for net programming, sound and input, that OGL does not have. This apart, the 3D features are very similar (always remember that OGL is present in pretty all OS while DX on microsoft's only).
DX should be a bit easier to set up.

My skills are that of a newbie. I have Viusal C++ 6. I have done a simple tic tac toe in text and coded in source files but that is as far as I ever got. I wonder if I should use the wizards for my windows or try to build my own gui with code?? And if so where would I start coding physically on my computer..??(besides keyboard hehe)