Skeletal animation math

Started by
11 comments, last by GameDev.net 19 years, 2 months ago
I’m in a dilemma I wrote everything and in the end I get this, It’s definitely the weights and the way I'm using them, given that I have no experience on the subject I could certainly say I did it wrong... So far I’ve just been stumbling in the dark. So I could use some illumination =D. anyway, I’m generating the weights for each bone by the distance from the child vertex to the parent pivot, using Weightbone += ( 50 / Magnitude( ParentVertex - Pivotbone ) )5 After adding all the weights together, I then make them so they all add to make 1 for any given vertice. Then I use the formula, NewVertex = Sum_of_all_bones_N ( ( Vertex*MatrixN ) * WeightN ) To do the vertex positions, I know something has to be wrong. It’s probably blatantly wrong to anyone how as experience with Skeletal Animation. If I’m not clear enough or I lacked some details I’d happy to post more information. Please help!
"I seek knowledge and to help those who also seek it"
Advertisement
When you initially skin the geometry, the vertices and bones are in the bind pose.
Each vertex has position "VertBindPos", each bone has transform "BoneBindMatrix"

To compute the world space position of a vertex attached to a single bone, you must first
put the vertex into the bind pose space of the bone, and then multiply the result by the
bones current world space matrix (you can pre-compute the bone inverse bind matrix offline and store it
ready for runtime use).

For skinning, you just perform the operation for multiple bones and take the weight into
account for each bone.

The math for computing the final skinned world space position of a vertex is then as follows:

vector3 VertSkinWorldPos( 0, 0, 0 );
for( int i = 0; i < nBones; i++)
{
vector3 VertBoneBindPos = VertBindPos * BoneInverseBindMatrix;
vector3 VertBoneWorldPos = VertBoneBindPos * BoneWorldMatrix;

VertSkinWorldPos += VertBoneWorldPos * VertBoneWeight;
}