Sign in to follow this  
Kryodus

C++, structs vs classes/objects

Kryodus    122
Im a student in 2nd year university comp sci degree, we have mostly looked at java when it came to programming but we've done a few weeks of C++ translating java to C++ mostly. Structs were never taught to us in class, but I have been doing my own reading and they seem fairly common in many sample codes I have seen. Every example code I have seen I could program with classes/objects instead, does anyone know the advantages/disadvtanges of using classes vs structs? Structs seem a little easier to code for a lot of easy examples so far, but thats about all ive noticed. but its a very new idea to me so Im sure im missing something obvious :D

SirLuthor    364
I'm no expert, but it seems to me that each should be used where applicable. If you have some data that is related, like the color values of a pixel, maybe 'unsigned short r, g, b;', then maybe you hsould take it, and put it into a structure. Now, if you have a few functions that work explicitly on pixel color data, then you would probably want to put those variables into a class, along with the functions that work on them. It's all a matter of what is more logical. Since structs cannot contain functions (can they? I'm fairly certain they can't, although I may well be wrong here), they should be used for sets of data, while classes should be used for grouping data and the functions that act on them, in logical formations.

Please keep in mind that again, I'm no expert, so don't take my word for this, rather, hope someone who's more experienced then me replies here [smile]

[BTW, I don't use structs at all, except when dealing with things like the Win32 API, it just doesn't seem necessary to me, when my classes illustrate the way things work better.]