Setting up a Server?

Started by
3 comments, last by hpesoj 19 years, 2 months ago
I am currently using a dll that uses winsock for networking. The dll is simplified so that setting up a server is done by a function like (HOST ip). I can set up a LAN server between my two PCs using the ip 192.168.0.1 etc. but my global IP (I'm sure it is correct) just doesn't want to connect and gives an error 10049. http://support.ipswitch.com/kb/WSK-19980701-EM04.htm My two computers are linked together through a router, which is connected to the internet, and I'm wondering if there are any technicalities when using this kind of connection (maybe it's screwing up because both pcs share an IP address?). Google-ing about the situation, I have come up with various non-sensicle piles of technical stuff (IP forwarding?) but none of it I understand (I'm rather new to networking in general). I have disabled the windows firewall (WinXP sp2) as there is one built into the router, but that shouldn't create any problems with setting up a server should it? Just when people want to connect to the server. I have spoken to other people using the same dll and they can set up a server without a hitch, but then they aren't using a LAN. Thanks for any help :).
Joseph Thomson - CLS Productions
Advertisement
When trying to connect from your LAN you have to use your local IP (192.168...)
Trying your global (that is the IP adress your ROUTER has) will not connect to your PC as your doesn't know that adress, only the router does.

So, the external IP has to be used from external (that is from the internet, not LAN).
When connecting inside the LAN you have to use the local (192.168...) IP.

For testing: Ask a friend to connect to your host, that will show you if it works. (when doing so watch your firewall settings and port-forwarding of your router).

hope this helped.
-----The scheduled downtime is omitted cause of technical problems.