• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

C++ Memory Management (arrays/pointers)

This topic is 4722 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm fairly new to c++, though I've used C a but, and am wondering what the best way would be to go about managing large amounts of data. Like, I may need an integer array thats 3D, and is 200x200x200, or even a lot larger. Back in C you couldnt just define the array without mallocing it. Heres how I was allocating it in regular C, but in 2D:
int **imatrix(long nrl, long nrh, long ncl, long nch)
/* allocate a int matrix with subscript range m[nr1..nrh][ncl..nch] */ 
{

long i, nrow=nrh-nrl+1, ncol=nch-ncl+1;
   int **m;

/* allocate pointers to rows */
   m=(int **) malloc((size_t)((nrow+NR_END)*sizeof(int*)));
   if (!m) fprintf(stderr, "allocation failure 1 in matrix()");
   m += NR_END;
   m -=nrl;

/* allocate rows and set pointers to them */
   m[nrl]=(int *) malloc((size_t)((nrow*ncol+NR_END)*sizeof(int)));
   if (!m[nrl]) fprintf(stderr, "allocation failure 2 in matrix()");
   m[nrl] += NR_END;
   m[nrl] -= ncl;

for(i=nrl+1;i<=nrh;i++) m=m[i-1]+ncol;

/* return pointer to array of pointers to rows */
   return m;

}

Thats from Numerical Recipes in C For 3D in C, i was just using a 1D array that was representitive of 3D. But this new thing I cannot use that, I dont want to have to calculate the 3D array indices from the 1D location. Is there a 3D array class I can use that makes the best use of memory allocation?

Advertisement
Quote:
But this new thing I cannot use that, I dont want to have to calculate the 3D array indices from the 1D location.

It's often better than to have arrays of arrays.

Quote:
Is there a 3D array class I can use that makes the best use of memory allocation?

Blitz++ or boost::multi_array