• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Making interiors (walk maps, bounding boxes?)

This topic is 4825 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi forum, I'm a newbie game maker and I was wondering how interiors are made. I thought there were several ways to go about this. The interiors I'm talking about are more than 1 storey buildings. 1) Walk maps with multiple layers a. Depending on what floor a player is in, the player will load a different walk map. b. The problem here is that it doesn't solve players "jumping out" windows, because a walk map is 2d top view. 2) A building made of bounding boxes a. This will be more processor intensive, but at least we're able to solve players jumping on things (like a table, or a through a window) b. The problem here is that we don't know to how to create these bounding boxes. This is where my major question comes in: is there a way to create them bounding boxes in a 3d program (where the building will be rendered?) This is where I got the idea: In Macromedia Flash, when you create a button, you draw the "up", "down", "over" and "hit" states. Up is when the mouse is not over the Hit. Down is when the user has clicked and keeps the mouse down on the Hit. Over is when the cursor is over the Hit. The "hit" then is the area that defines what is "hittable". I can draw a 5"x5" square but make the Hit area a 1"x1" star. I wanted to apply this to making buildings. I wanted to model a building with tables, shelves and all, and then manually create these bounding boxes, as a different file or different object that is loaded into the game to mimmick the "unhittable" areas. However, (I'm using Ogre) Ogre doesn't recognize 1 object with details bounding "box" - it'll get the extremity of the object and see it as a box (literally) itself. If I'm making theoritical sense, good, but if possible at all I un