Getting lost in the forest looking for a tree

Started by
2 comments, last by kburkhart84 19 years, 1 month ago
Apologies for the specific but also cross topic post which 'possibly' belongs in the Beginners section. I'm just looking for a solid starting block - I feel like I have gone 20 setps forward but 100 back each time. I am using .NET for the first time (used to VS6), programming in C++ using/learning the world of 3D graphics via DirectX 9. I am a newb to DirectX but have followed all the numerous tuorials for lighing,texture mapping, mesh loading etc which as you all know have their own framework depending on author and function. I also have written my own 3D planet application bolting on the various tutorails as we go. But making a framework knightmare. So.... all I want is one simple but extenable framework where I can start from scratch and slot everything together. After I was happy with DirectX and its concepts via the tutorials and their modification - I started looking into the C++ Empty project supplied by MS - but then I started looking into the Empty Keyboard and Mouse project also supplied for Direct Input so I can zoom my camera around my spinning/rotating planets - but they don't even seem to use the same framework as the Empty project and it all became a mess. I started with the basics and am now wondering if I'm over complicating things by trying to use the MS framework to fit everything into ? Or should I use another framework ? Everytime I try to learn another thing - such as bounding boxes or different lighting etc. it takes me more time trying to fit it into the official framework I'm almost giving up.... For example the concept of DirectInput rather than normal windows proc catching seems a better way to go ? Should I just keep on patching with success .... but in the future when I want to write new apps I have no proper framework to adjust .. ? I hope some of this makes sense ? Anyone experienced the same problem when learning DirectX and