• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
itguru80

[java] Java or C# for 3D game dev??

This topic is 4980 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm a Java/C# programmer and I'm starting a new 3D project, and I'm wondering what technology to use? I'm probably more familiar with Java, but my C# skills are not too bad either. Anyway I've been researching the possibilities. I would like to avoid C++ at all costs, so I am looking for a 3D Engine that supports Java or C#, and it would be great if it were open-source ;-) I was looking at using Irrlicht. There's a Java binding for that called bindenlicht and another called jirr, although they are not up to date with the latest release of Irrlicht (0.8). There's also a .NET wrapper with 0.8 (although it's only partially complete). I have been reading a bit about Java 3D on the net and wonder if it could be the way to go? What I want is an easy-to-use API that gets me up and going with the minimal fuss. I am not a games programmer and so therefore I want something that is not too low-level, as I simply don't have the time!!! Can anyone give me some tips and advice on what technology to use, and what are the advantages of using Java instead of C# .NET???? Thanks

Advertisement
Well, I can't say anything about C# since I don't use that language, but I have a project in java, using the java 3D game SDK, described here.

Other options you might have are the OpenGL bindings, LWJGL and JOGL.

There's also the Java3D SDK, it is a scenegraph API that could match your need for high level stuff. But there are some annoying bugs with it... and a pretty bad sound support.

There are quite a number of engines and renderers for Java3D, try a small search at google for it.

Forgive my poor english
Son of Cain

[edit: lwjgl link fixed]

Guest Anonymous Poster