• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lgguy

OpenGL using 3d models for a 2d game

This topic is 5008 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First off, let me clarify that I am *not* asking about how to set up OpenGL to draw on the screen using 2D functions. I know about the "Last Post about 2D in OpenGL" thread referenced in the forum faq. Here is a little background on what I am trying to do, the gameplay of the game I am writing takes place on a 2D playing field. However, the project lead (in his infinite wisdom) wanted to use 3D graphics. We are writing the game from scratch and using OpenGL as the graphics API. I am an experienced programmer but my graphics experience is in 2D and this is my first real attempt at 3D graphics. The artists have given me models in 3ds format. This is my ultimate goal: the game takes place on a 24 x 18 grid. I want to encapsulate the 3D code and expose a simple API that lets me move objects around on the game grid (i.e. object->Move(4, 5); // move object to (4,5) on the grid) I have experienced no end of problems. I tried using a regular perspective projection but when I moved an object around, it would appear rotated the farther it was from the middle of the screen. I switched to an orthographic projection and that seems to work okay. However, I am having all sorts of problems with the sizes of my models. Models that look the same size in Milkshape, are drastically different sizes in my app. Even scaling models in Milkshape versus using glScalef() sometimes has different results. I know a lot of these problems are probably because of lack of experience in 3D programming, but I can't find any information on the net about using 3D models for a 2D game (only setting up 3D graphics APIs to act like 2D drawing APIs). Any help would be *much* appreciated! I was a math major in a former life so don't