• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
VaderJ

[java] where do I put my resource files??

This topic is 4828 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I am doing a tutorial I found on the internet. It is a remake of space invaders. Everything has gone fine so far, but now we are to the point of adding graphics and i can't seem to get it to work. Here is what the guy doing the tutorial says: The image we'll load is called bicho.gif and must be in a subdirectory called "res" (resources) beneath the main directory of our project (but not beneath the package directory). For example, if our class is located in c:\planetalia\curso\java\version04\Invaders.class, then the resource directory must be located in c:\planetalia\curso\java\res\): I am using NetBeans and this is my first time trying to do anything with graphics. I think the problem could be I am just not getting the file into the right place for the program to read it. Program compiles and runs fine, but no image shows up. Wich I guess isn't quite right because it is supposed to show an error if the image isn't found, but nothing shows up. Here is the code:
[source language="java"]
package version04;
2     /**
3      * Curso B?sico de desarrollo de Juegos en Java - Invaders
4      * 
5      * (c) 2004 Planetalia S.L. - Todos los derechos reservados. Prohibida su reproducci?n
6      * 
7      * http://www.planetalia.com
8      * 
9      */
12    import java.awt.Canvas;
13    import java.awt.Dimension;
14    import java.awt.Graphics;
15    import java.awt.event.WindowAdapter;
16    import java.awt.event.WindowEvent;
17    import java.awt.image.BufferedImage;
18    import java.net.URL;
20    import javax.imageio.ImageIO;
21    import javax.swing.JFrame;
22    import javax.swing.JPanel;
24    public class Invaders extends Canvas {
25      public static final int WIDTH = 800;