Sign in to follow this  

Static Constructors

This topic is 4665 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, this is a CSharp related question. I am relatively new to the language and I was wondering if someone could explain the following to me. I have included the source for a simple little program which I was trying out that has to do with static constructors. I understand the following about static constructors... // IF YOUR CLASS DECLARES A STATIC CONSTRUCTOR, YOU WILL BE // GUARANTEED THAT THE STATIC CONSTRUCTOR WILL RUN BEFORE // ANY INSTANCE OF YOUR CLASS IS CREATED. // YOU ARE NOT ABLE TO CONTROL EXACTLY WHEN A STATIC // CONSTRUCTOR WILL RUN, BUT YOU DO KNOW THAT IT WILL BE AFTER // THE START OF YOUR PROGRAM AND BEFORE THE FIRST INSTANCE IS // CREATED. What bothers me is that since we can't control when a static constructor runs, how does the following line display the current time... Console.WriteLine("HOUR: {0}, MINUTE: {1}, SECOND: {2}", cl_getTime.hour, cl_getTime.minute, cl_getTime.second); An object of the class has not been created, but by referencing the member variables the static constructor is being made to run. I thought it could not be controlled.
//
// readonly FIELDS ALLOW US TO MARK static VALUES AS CONSTANT
//
using System;

public class cl_getTime
{
    // static CONSTRUCTOR
    static cl_getTime()
    {
        // GET THE CURRENT DATE/TIME INFORMATION
        DateTime dt = DateTime.Now;
        hour        = dt.Hour;
        minute      = dt.Minute;
        second      = dt.Second;
    }

//
    // PUBLIC
    //
    public static readonly int hour;
    public static readonly int minute;
    public static readonly int second;
}

public class cl_main
{
    public static int Main()
    {
        // THE CONSTRUCTOR BEING static GETS INVOKED BEFORE AN OBJECT OF THE CLASS IS CREATED.