Sign in to follow this  

Reading bmps - help!

This topic is 4658 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well hello, this is my first post... First thing I'm not a newbie to programming, but only recently I've started learning it more seriously and doing programs that are more than simply "wow that's cool now get away". As of now I know C. So my question is: When you read a bitamp file whose widths and heights are not divided by 4, it comes out all streched or just gibberish. I've tried reading the file and then filling rows and columns with pixels I've defined as opaque until it's divided by four, but it doesn't do much change. I've tried a few other things that did absolutly nothing. So, how do I do it? Thanks ahead, and may your compiler never show errors. /// edit: I posted in the beginer forum and it somehow ended up here O-o If you can pass it I'll be grateful.

In a Bitmap if the width multipied by bytes per pixel isn't an even number then there is an extra byte that doesn't do anything at the end of every line or row of pixels.

I had a similar problem with the WORD padding. Here is my code, it took a while to get it right. Just keep paying with it, and you will eventually get it:

//this is a 24bpp bitmap, so I get the actual pixel width
byteWidth := header.gWdith * 3;
padWidth := byteWidth;

//i increase the size until it is on a 4 byte boundry
while(padWidth mod 4 <> 0) do
padWidth := padWidth + 1;

//this is the actual image size with no padding
diff := header.gHeight * byteWidth;
//this just sets an array to be the size of the actual image
SetLength(imageData, diff);
SetLength(tempImageData, byteWidth + 1);
header.gSize := diff;

//I set the offset to be the difference between the padded width and the unpadded width
offset := padWidth - byteWidth;

saveCursor := screen.Cursor;
screen.Cursor := crHourGlass;