Sign in to follow this  

First MMORPG

This topic is 4664 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am interested in making an MMORPG, i am new to game development and i was wondering whats the best pogram(s) to use? i was thinking of using flash or director with graphics in something like 3d studio max. It will be quite a complex game. Also there will be friends list and an online stat page which i would use php/flash for. Is this a good thing to use?

Quote:
Original post by CrystalMagma
Should i use something like c++ or javascript

I wouldn't recommend javascript. Personally, I would use C++ but I'm sure the OOP hippie squad is on the way to tell you to use Java or C#.

Quote:
Original post by Ravuya
Flash won't cut it. Director might come close (I have seen some games written in it) but I sure as hell wouldn't try.

Director is extremely fit with its built-in 3D engine and network components. The popular 'Habbo Hotel' is a good example of what it is capable of.

Quote:
Original post by Prototype
Quote:
Original post by Ravuya
Flash won't cut it. Director might come close (I have seen some games written in it) but I sure as hell wouldn't try.

Director is extremely fit with its built-in 3D engine and network components. The popular 'Habbo Hotel' is a good example of what it is capable of.

Well, what I said is that I have seen games made in it, but that I wouldn't try. I didn't say it was particularly unfit for the task.

For an MMORPG, you need C++ for performance and speed reasons. It's as simple as that. Plus you need dedication, skill, some more dedication, and some more skill, and so on. Plus, you better be a absolute network programming genius, or you'll fail quickly, and very quickly.

Quote:
Original post by spunkybuttockszc