Sign in to follow this  

2 Questions...

This topic is 4667 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have two important questions on how to transform C++ into the game itself. I am an early beginner, and just want to visually see what is beyond the C++ code. So the following questions are described as best as I can describe them... What is it that is used to program C++ into games? I have tried researching this on my own time, but found it confusing, my oppoligies. e.g. (Dirrect-X, Dirrect-Draw) I am still uncertain if this is another language, or a large function in a computer language that already exists.(if you have not already answered this in my first question) Anything else you feel is important for me to know at this point, I encourge you to bring up, thanks.

Assuming that you mean commercial games, like for xbox or PC, I'm pretty sure they use mainly the Direct-* headers.
To your other question, Direct-X and Direct-Draw and all the other Direct headers are C++. they are headers. What they are is code that does not have a main() function, but code that simply has the functions to draw to the screen.
PS.
xbox means Derect-X box.
[edit]
Fixed spelling error.
[/edit]

When you write a program (a game or otherwise) using your language of choice (in this case, C++), you typically write your code with the aid of a program known as an IDE, or Integrated Development Environment. Your IDE will normally contain tools to help you out - some of the things a typical IDE may contain include a text editor with syntax highlighting (for writing your code - the syntax highlighting makes keywords a different colour), a debugger (to help you find errors), and a compiler among other things.
(further info on IDEs @ wikipedia | @ GDNet Game Dictionary)