Sign in to follow this  

Artists that know programming?

This topic is 4660 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forums here, and I have a question I've been hearing a lot about. I'm a 3D artist, with some background in photoshop, and a lot of my friends are telling me it's important for artists to have some experience with coding. Is this generally a good idea? I have no knowledge of coding whatsoever. I can do a little HTML and actionscript, but throw anything besides links and gotoAndPlay at me and I'll be stumped. Should I go out and learn some basic C++ or something? ~Alex

It's a good idea to learn as much as you can about everything. However, since that can be time consuming, we all tend to specialize.

I'm an artist-turned-programmer, and quite frankly, i'm enjoying the programming a bit more. Good design in a program requires many of the same skills as good design for a website or brochure page layout or an art project of some kind. It's just more technical and functional.

Technically, i don't see a huge relation between graphics and programming though. It's good for each camp to know a bit about the other, but honestly i don't see a large connection.

Depends on which kind of art. Concept art? No programming knowledge needed. Modelling? It would be nice to be able to script the odd thing and know what it does. For instance, in our engine we have very very limited scripting embedded in our animations.

That said, knowledge is always a good thing, so learn everything you can.

-Greg