Sign in to follow this  

Where to start? MMORPG

This topic is 4654 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So a couple of guys I worked with decided we were going to make an RPG. Plans started as a text-based game, but it isn't anymore. We want to make a MMORPG, and we've spent a long time planning it. But we really have no idea where to start. We have someone who is good with grapphics and concept art, ect. but no experience with game making. I'm a web coder, and I know PHP, but I don't think that will help me much. We've also got a few other people that are willing to learn with us. We've also got a copy of Maya Unlimited, though we don't know how to work that either. Heh. We are literately a bunch of idiots. But what we do have is a lot of is connections, so depending on if we have the right connections, we might be able to not worry about money costs. We also have a lot of free time (not particularily recently, but definately will in the future). So we can spend a whole bunch of time learning. And we have a big crowd that will follow and learn with us. [edit] Yes, I'm a newbie, but I'm not a complete moron. I know that an MMORPG is extremely difficult and arguably the most complicated type of game to code. Please note that I am NOT starting my game development career with an MMORPG, it's just what I want to work up to doing. I have 5 years for the specific project stated here, that should be plenty of time. So before you tell me how dificult it is, I'm starting with Tic Tac Toe, and if I never make it to developing an MMORPG, then so be it, I'll at least be able to develop a nice game of Tic Tac Toe. :D But I'm not a quitter, I'll at least attempt at the MMORPG in a couple years. ;) [Edited by - SolarFX on March 9, 2005 8:15:11 PM]