• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
faculaganymede

OpenGL OpenGL Shader Question

This topic is 4974 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

OpenGL Shader Experts, I am new to shaders. I want to implement a fragment shader to change the RGB color on the textures (assuming all objects in the scene are textured) using a lookup table. I do not want to include the light and fog colors in that process. Thus, my question is can I apply lighting and fog after the fragment shader operation? I appreciate any suggestions.

Advertisement
Yes :)

Standard glfog and -lighting is very simple to do...
The lighting-part would be done in a vertexshader.

Is that what you mean?

Not sure how to help...

Thanks for your reply, Stein.

Quote:
Original post by stein
The lighting-part would be done in a vertexshader.

Is that what you mean?

Sorry for not being very clear, it's because I don't know the shader stuff very well.

I don't think I want lighting to be done in the vertex shader. If lighting is done in the vertex shader, then the light color will be mixed with texture color, so the final color that goes into the fragment shader will be light+texture. That's not what I want. I only want the texture color to go into the fragment shader.

Perhaps some more detail on my task will make things a little more clear:

RGB -> fragment shader (use look-up table) -> intensity

I basically want to take the RGB values of the texture, use the fragment shader to look up the intensity value in a reference look-up table. The reference look-up table contains intensity values that correspond to a set of RGB texture values.