Sign in to follow this  

Scripting, for you?

This topic is 4651 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm assuming most people reading this post are using or have used a scripting language in the past. I've used a few, SpiderMonkey, GameMonkey and Lua are the most notable mentions; there's a few more that look appealing, Squirrel, AngelScript, Python... and the list of available scripting langauges is endless. I was thinking about the design of the most popular languages today, were they designed for us or were they designed for the author's tastes, whims and pleasures? The biggest problem I have with most of the langaues I've tried is the scripting API; you know - that bit of code we have to write to bind our game data/logic to the scripting environment. As a developer, I don't think I pay too much attention to how the script syntax itself is specified, I'm a semi-smart guy, I'll work it out. The real thing I spend my time on is the binding, using the script API to link the scripted world with the native world. I'm starting to think that when creating a new language/environment, script designers are concerned with designing the syntax of the langauge first, they'll concenrate on the virtual machine internals, tweaking opcodes and managing stacks. It's my feeling that the programmer's API is an afterthought, something tacked onto the end of a masterpiece of VM design. Take the excellent beginner's text Game Scripting Mastery, the author doesn't really focus on the API design until quite late in the book and even then it's cursory. Where's the dedicated chapter on usability? Where's the discussion about how to access the machine? The Peroxide Tutorials are another example; it takes 13 separate tutorials to get to one concerning the actual developer interface to the script. Sure, we know the finer points about scanning, lexxing and