Sign in to follow this  

Need a fast way to create gui's

This topic is 4659 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I made a map editor using c++ and win 32. It was the most buggy piece of software I ever wrote full of memory leaks and access violations. Not to mention that it took forever to make. I am a better coder now and I realize the need to do away with raw win 32 and do some drag drop gui programming. I don’t care if its in java, or if its in visual basic. My main concern is development time: i.e. how fast I learn the language and how good the drag drop system is. Another thing I would like is it to be free. I hear winforms is great but I don’t have VS. I already know c/c++/java and some perl. I haven’t gotten wxWidgets to compile but if I hear its worth the effort I may reconsider using something like that. I want the best free gui creation environment where I can create a control and the IDE will create the message handlers and I just fill in the code. With the lowest learning curve (i.e. I don’t have to spend days reading documentation before I can get anything done)

MFC. I think it is the fastest way to make a GUI - given that you know how it works. Once you do, making your own GUIs is quite easy and super fast. It is what I used to make the GUI to test out my OpenAL audio library. However, since you do not have VS, then this suggestion is of no use for you, but it is something to keep in mind if you ever do decided to get VS.

Since you wrote your code in C++ and Win32, I'd suggest staying with the language. Visual Basic is also really easy to do GUI's in, but you will need to port the code. I do not know of that many GUI libraries, but the wxWindows is your best bet I think for now.