Sign in to follow this  

C++ am i going the right way?

This topic is 4664 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im new to all this and i want to learn C++ so first i D/L the Compiler BloodShed Dev-C++ 5 beta 9,and i went to http://www.cprogramming.com/ and im currently learning all thats in there Learning to Program in C++ tutorials section. Is that a good way to start?Are there better free compilers?What are good comercial compilers? I hope in time(not today,tomorow,month,maybe years) to make my 3d engine! Thats why im asking if im starting good. Thanx all!

Oh thanx Stompy,but sadly im really out of money :( ill have to wait till my bro give me back my $1400! Hopefully that might take less than a month :)

Hey what are the main diferenceses between a free compiler and a comercial compiler!

I would suggest the Thinking in C++ vol 1.
it's a really good book, and it's FREE!
just google for it, it's probably the best C++ book out there.

You can learn C++ without books just fine. I did. The language is not that complex. What you mostly need is experience, and to be aware of the standard "tricks" you can use when implementing your programs.

Quote:
Original post by Dark_Coder
Oh thanx Stompy,but sadly im really out of money :( ill have to wait till my bro give me back my $1400! Hopefully that might take less than a month :)

Hey what are the main diferenceses between a free compiler and a comercial compiler!

Dev-C++ is a great compiler. There are not many differences between free and commercial compilers either.

You seem to be on the right path. At least you don't want to make Doom 4 or an MMORPG. Programming (with any language) can be tough at first, don't be discouraged and be sure to set realistic goals.