• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
garyfletcher

1st game - newbie looking for feedback.

This topic is 4967 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all I've just completed my 1st game. It's a simple text based version of Tic-Tac-Toe. I'm pretty new to this C++ and OOP development, I come from a C development background and so would really appreciate some feedback on the design and other areas of C++ & OOP that I've used or missed or missused. Any constructive comments would be good, be they good, bad or ugly. The source can be downloaded from here Thanks to ace_lovegrove for helping me with webspace...top man..:) The project has been built using dev-c++ v4.9.9.2. Please get back to me if you wouldn't mind. Thanks in advance..:)

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by ZadrraS
Can you upload a compiled exe file? It doesn't compile with Visual C++.

Seconded - I had some severe issues with both VS and DevC++ - also, why have it in two nested zip files???

Firstly, no std namespace needed in Boardtile.cpp and you need a return value at bool GenericPlayer::setGo(const bool turn).

*looks at game*

The GUI and such is very well layed out and frankly kick ass :P

As for the code, you have lots of accessor methods such as
char GenericPlayer::getPlayPiece()

that only return a value. You should place them in the header file so that they will be inlined. Although Im sure a decent compiler would anyway. other than that everything seems fine from a quick skim of the code.

Oh one last thing, isntead of writting vector<BoardTile*>::const_iterator and such all the time you might want to typedef it to something shorter and more easily remembered.