• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Prodigal_Son

How To Free Memory After Using auxDIBImageLoadA

This topic is 4996 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm new in programing Games in OpenGL! I have some work to do, a game for my graduating in university! In the game enviroment I use a lot of Images. I reserve memory for the images with auxDIBImageLoadA, but when I debug my program the is a memory leaks for all the images! I try to free the reserved memory with free( void* ) and with delete, but the leaks are still there. Please if somebody know how to free this memory, let me know. Something important, i use for the images ::glGenTextures( GLsizei n,GLuint *textures ), ::glBindTexture( GLenum target, GLuint texture ),::glDeleteTextures( GLsizei n,GLuint *textures ), to create texture objects in memory, after this i put all the generated texture objects in a single DisplayList. After all work i first delete the displaylist with textures, delete memory texture objects and last i try to free the pointers AUX_RGBImageRec *m_pRGBImage[MAXCOUNTTEXTURES] that were used for the auxDIBImageLoadA for every image...but no result. One more (LAST) quastion, I suppose that this memory is a VIDEO memory (if i'm not right please let me know) of the video card, so is this memory defragment from OS, (i.e. if we don't free the memory is there a possibility to overflow the memory, for example if i run my program many many time without restart the computer). I ask this because before i don't delete the display lists for my objects and after several runing of the program some of the objects are not with the exact dimensions. Thank you very much.

Advertisement