• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mr Grinch

Simulating Boat Steering

This topic is 4901 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a developer for Crown and Cutlass, which is a 3d pirate game in the spirit of the old Pirates! game. In past releases, I have had basically no physics for the ship in the water. I recently added drag so you speed up/slow down slowly instead of instantly. I would like to add a simulation of rudders, so when you press left your rudder turns which begins to turn your boat rather than instantly turning you .5 degrees (or whatever). However, I grew up in Colorado (very landlocked), so I don't really have a feel for how boats should behave. I understand the basics of what a rudder does (I'm not that out of touch!), but have a lot of questions. What factors go into the turning radius? Does the speed or length of the boat change the turning radius? Does anyone know where I can find equations that explain this sort of thing? Also, has anyone used any sailing simulators (such as Virtual Sailor) that are decent? I'd like to play around with how other sail boats handle in games/simulations for comparision. Thanks for the help.

Advertisement
Guest Anonymous Poster
Both rudder and keel surfaces are analogous to wings on an airplane (for some configurations), and are governed by the same equations.

Lift = 0.5*rho*S*Cl*V^2
Drag = 0.5*rho*S*Cd*V^2

rho is the density (1060 kg/m^3 for saltwater), S is the plan area of the keel or rudder (you treat them separately). V is the speed of the oncoming flow (in the bow to stern direction), Cl is the coefficient of lift, and Cd is the coefficient of drag. Both Cl and Cd are functions of the angle of attack, which is determined by the sideslip and the rudder angle.