• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sofakng

How is Delphi 6 for programming [multiplayer] Games? Should I stay with programming?

This topic is 4965 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a habit of making my posts way too long, so I'll try to be as brief as possible -- skip to the fourth paragraph for my actual question :) --- Last year I graduated from Penn State with a BS in IST and have been working as a computer programmer for a local insurance company for the past nine months. Needless (?) to say, I'm not very happy with my job. I've always dreamed about being a programmer and have always loved programming, but after working for 8 or 9 months I'm not sure I want to be a programmer. Why? Well, I'm not sure really. I've always dreamed of being a game programmer (heck, I still do today) but maybe the fact that I'm programming insurance software is why I've lost interest in programming. I still love learning and programming as a hobby (I enjoy reading about Hash Tables, etc -- yes, I am a geek at heart), but I'm just not sure what I want to do... So, how does that relate to the question I'm about to ask? Well, if I decide to continue with a programming career, I'm sure it would beneficial for me to learn C++ or perhaps C#. If I decided to go that route then my upcoming question is pointless. However, if I decide to change careers (away from programming) and only write programs as a hobby then perhaps I don't need to learn any new languages. This leads me to my question: Can games be written in Delphi? (v6.0, but I only mention that because it's what we use at work) Like a lot of people here on the forums, I dream of creating a MMORPG, but I realize that I will most likely never get to do this (espicially in Delphi [yes, I know the thought is almost laughable]), but that would be my "ultimate" goal. A more short-term g