• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Janus-DG

2D Fighting Game...

This topic is 4965 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Can anyone give me some tips on developing a 2D Fighting game? I'm not asking for any team members or anything like that, not "Looking to make the best game evar"... etc... Just looking to work on something game-related in my spare time, I love fighting games and they seem to be pretty straightforward when it comes to development. Basically, all I need are some tips to get started. I have some basic C++, C# knowledge and I worked with DirectX and OGL years ago but I don't remember much now. So I'd need any links to some of the better tutorials out there for DX9 and whatnot. I'm looking to make it Sprite-based with some 3D Effects, Controller Support and if I can, port-able. It's more of an experiment to gain knowledge than anything else. Are there any programs I should be looking at specifically for this? And tutorials on how to create sprite animations, 3D effects for games, all that good stuff. It's certainly not the simplest project to start out with, but I've got plenty time on my hands and it's simply for personal use. I figure why not. Edit: I know there's probably engines and such already made for fighting games, but I'm more interested in obtaining the knowledge on how to develop my own from the ground up.

Advertisement
Actually, there are almost no fighting games engines out there. Trust me, I've looked :-) I've playing around with the Irrlicht engine and love it--powerful and the learning curve isn't too bad.

What sort of sprites and backgrounds will you be using?

1. Hand drawn (e.g., Street Fighter -esqe games)
2. Sprites of 3D modeled characters and 3D modeled backgrounds (e.g., Killer Instinct).
3. Live action pics (e.g., the old MK games)