Sign in to follow this  
bknouse1344

Pong/tictactoe source?

Im starting to write games with graphics (pong,tic tac toe...) and I was wondering if there is any place where I could find the source to these games. Like good code...someone who knows what they're doing so I can read and learn. I'm tired of following outta the books, and I can't find this code on google. Any ideas?

Well thats the thing...I'm new to programming and would rather see a professional code first because I would rather spend the next few days knowing what I'm trying to accomplish through each function class or whatnot.

No, you need to learn yourself. Copying out of books or from the internet will do you no good. Sure, you might have good code, but who cares, it's not yours. Surely you've heard the expression "you only learn by your mistakes." Well, this applies to programming.

I said

"Well thats the thing...I'm new to programming and would rather see a professional code first because I would rather spend the next few days knowing what I'm trying to accomplish through each function class or whatnot."

I did not say I would copy it out of the source, I was just looking for something to understand...quite obviously nothing was taken out of copying from a web browser and pasting it to my compiler. If I wanted to show off to friends I would be asking for the code to Doom 3.

...I'm guessing that is out of the question??

I know you said you didn't like to get it from books but I have been finding Beginning C++ Game Programming very helpful. I have combined the Tic-Tac-Toe program I learned there with Allegro to make a graphical version of it. I am now trying to add the ability to play against my roomate over the LAN. The book is very well written and only about $30