Lode

subclass question

Lode    1003
Suppose I have a master class
class Master
{
    //...
};
And some subclasses of it with some functions in them that are NOT functions of Master:
class Sub1 : public Master
{
    //...
    void a();
};

class Sub2 : public Master
{
    //...
    void b();
};
Now I make an std::vector of Masters:
std::vector<Master> list;
Will it now be possible to add objects of type Sub1 and Sub2 to this list, and call function a() or b() of these if they're of the correct type? For example, can I set list[4] to a Sub1 and then call list[4].a()? If yes, how? If not, is there another way to make such a list of objects of different types without using pointers? The reason I don't want to use pointers, is that I want to make some class that automaticly will make objects of different types (that are all subclass of a master class) depending on the contents it reads from a file and be able to call functions of these subclasses if I have the knowledge which class in the list is of what type. If that's all impossible, how would you make that what I said? (a class that can make objects of many different types by reading options from a file). I don't want to make different std::vectors for each object type by the way, because I want to be able to make more subclasses of the type Master without having to add a new std::vector every time, I just want an std::vector of type Master. Thanks!

You need to store master pointers in the vector and what you want is RTTI (Run Time Type Identification) availble through dynamic_cast, note that you need at least one virtual function for that to work. But that shouldn't be a problem since you for any (base) class with virtual functions really need a virtual dtor anyhow.

So yes, it's possible but many times it's also a sign of weak design.

Miserable    606