sending std::vector to file

Started by
5 comments, last by Rhaal 19 years ago
I'm just starting out int STL and was wondering if it is possible to send a std::vector stream to a file. Then if you can read it back in in one go. something kind of like fwrite().
Advertisement
Well, yyyeah..... you can do funky-cool stuff with std::copy and std::ostream_iterator and std::istream_iterator. Really, though, the easiest way to do it is just in a for-loop.
this should illustrate how to do it:
#include <iostream>#include <iterator>#include <vector>#include <fstream>int main(void){	std::vector<int> v, w;	for(int i = 0; i != 10; ++i)		v.push_back( i);	//output to file	{		std::ofstream out( "out.txt");		std::copy( v.begin(), v.end(), std::ostream_iterator<int>( out, "\n"));	}	//read from file	{		std::ifstream in( "out.txt");		std::copy( std::istream_iterator<int>( in), std::istream_iterator<int>(), std::back_inserter( w));	}	//output	std::copy( v.begin(), v.end(), std::ostream_iterator<int>( std::cout, " "));	endl( std::cout);	std::copy( w.begin(), w.end(), std::ostream_iterator<int>( std::cout, " "));}
HardDrop - hard link shell extension."Tread softly because you tread on my dreams" - Yeats
Ah yes, what I should have said is that I want it to be written out as a chunk of binary, so that i can read the vector straight back in in one lump. But i suppose, thinking about it, that it wouldn't work with something dynamic like a vector.
boost::serialization can serialize stl containers in and out of files with one line of code, even handles pointers and actually saves the data pointed to.
I think its best to provide a serial read and write to the class you store in the vector. As well as a way to know how many elements are in the file.