Dynamic Mesh (X File) Creation

Started by
0 comments, last by jollyjeffers 19 years ago
I've created an application using DirectX, that allows the users to draw 2D trace 2D floor diagrams and then it goes through the x,y points and produces a 3D mesh (.X) file (complete with wall width and height, etc). I would like to include 3rd party mesh files in the floor plan. So say they drop a sweet chair into the 2D floor plan (represented as some type of 2D icon) I want to incorporate that into the 3D floor plan - correctly situated on the plan. Is DirectX the correct API to be using for this type of application? Are there other, better, scene graph api's available? I'm new to the whole 3D thing and have no training. I do have the math background, but I'm still lost when it comes the whole low-level api's vs. scene graph api's vs game engines, etc. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Advertisement
Quote:Is DirectX the correct API to be using for this type of application? Are there other, better, scene graph api's available?

DirectX is more than capable of doing what you want, but whether it is "correct" is not so clear.

DirectX, natively, doesn't really do scene graphs for you - thats the "level up" from the actual API; something that an engine programmer might implement as part of a graphics library.

If you particularly want scene graph support (for trivial representations this might not be useful, but a definite plus for any large-scale plans/diagrams) then, as I see it, you have two choices:
1. Write it in yourself as some form of ADT in your language of choice (C#/C/C++ etc..)
2. Use a 3rd party engine to handle it for you. There are various free engines around, as well as a large number of professional-grade engines available for a licence fee.

Quote:I'm still lost when it comes the whole low-level api's vs. scene graph api's vs game engines

As a simplification...