• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Multiple Indice buffers needed?

This topic is 4680 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Bit of confusion on my part, probably because I'm just starting to learn DirectX. I have a bunch of vertexes and a bunch of indexes that use the vertexes. However, within these indices, some are desired to have different textures. Do I have to actually make different index buffers for every set of triangles that use different textures? How do I do that? I couldn't figure out a way using DrawIndexedPrimitives to have it only draw some of the indices, then I could switch textures, and then draw more from the index buffer.

Advertisement

HRESULT DrawIndexedPrimitive(
D3DPRIMITIVETYPE Type,
INT BaseVertexIndex,
UINT MinIndex,
UINT NumVertices,
UINT StartIndex,
UINT PrimitiveCount
);

You can specify the subset of triangles to render using the parameters passed to the function. But as far as I understand, it's better to seperate the primitives so that each material has an index buffer. Don't assume I'm correct, though.

So you keep a single vertex buffer, but use an index buffer for each subset. Getting the vertex starting points and offsets of each subset can be different depending on how you're loading in your mesh data. D3DXMesh has methods for this, if you use that. Although I doubt you are, or you would probably be using DrawSubset().

Sorry, I'm a little new to the primitive rendering myself.

From the specs of the DrawIndexedPrimitive, it seems tied more to the vertexes than the Indices. It only had vertex offsets, I did not see any way of offsetting into the indice buffer.

I have g_cubeIndices filled in with a list of indexes in the array. It's a WORD g_cubeIndices[100];

LPDIRECT3DINDEXBUFFER9 g_pIndexBuffer;

g_pd3dDevice->CreateIndexBuffer( indiceCount[currentRoomExamined]*sizeof(WORD),