• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
yuri

Isometric & orthographic projection confusion

This topic is 4801 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I first want to say that I'm a total NOOB when it comes to isometric programming. I tried to do a more thorough search for the answer but only yielded people saying use orthographic projection with camera settings (view matrix) of 45 degrees here and ~30 degrees there and voila magic happens. Progression: NO orthographic projection setup yet. Using ID3DXSPRITE and only setting ALPHABLEND on the sprites begin and render the textures yields good results. (0,0) is at the top left of the screen with +x to the right and +y going down. Now once I turn on Orthographic projection with the width and hight my origin is in the center of the screen, +x right, +y going up. Using OBJECTSPACE on the sprites. Render all the graphics yields all my graphics are in the first quadrant. Understandably since I'm working only with positive x and y values. The added bonus of having all my graphics upside down, including my fonts. Ok, nice feature I guess. Makes sense for them to be upside down since the +y is now upside down from my original origin at the top left corner. Quick fix, used the orthographic offcenter projection to put the origin back at the top left corner. Nice, I think. My fonts have turned somewhat distorted. Replaced orthographic offcenter projection with regular (0,0) center screen projection. Now, setting up the view matrix, simple for now. Looking down the z axis with an up vector of 1,1,0 (45 degrees). Now, my upside down textures appear diamond shaped. Well, same width and height for now, so they are at least somewhat diamond shaped. I know that I need a 2:1 ratio for my width and height. But, overall what does this give me? I'll explain further. If I create isometric textures then wh