• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Tokage

A Networking wtf (forgive the n00b)

This topic is 4857 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to network programming, and I'm trying to write a simple multiplayer game right now. It involves little triangles that move around a simple playing field and shoot at each other. I have a simple server and client set up, using WSAEventSelect() to handle the sockets. But I'm having a weird problem: The client and server seem to be able to talk to each other, but only intermittently. I can open the server and two clients, and when I move one of the clients' triangle dealies, it doesn't appear consistently in the other client window. Instead, it seems to be randomly flickering; both clients are displaying the other's triangle at the same time, and whenever it's gone on one it's gone on the other too. I'm having the client send the triangle object over every frame, and keep an array of other shapes from which it picks the ones to draw every frame. Whenever the server gets a position-update packet, it propagates it to all the other active clients, along with a consistent index with which to refer to the object, and whenever a client receives such a packet (along with an index) it updates the triangle at that index in the array. Is there something wrong with this system? Is there a better way to be handling it? I basically made this whole thing up off the top of my head, so I wouldn't be surprised if there was a better way to be doing it. If anyone wants the relevant code I'll be happy to provide it.

Advertisement