• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Rotating Vertices with a Rotation Matrix

This topic is 4703 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, I'm new to 3d graphics, and am currently trying to figure out how to define 3d objects (in this case a cube) with a vertex array, and then rotate it on all three axes with a rotation matrix. The problem is, instead of rotating the cube, it is warping it, with opposing pairs of corners rotating about the center, on which ever axis is specified. Can anyone point out what I'm doing wrong? Declaration of the vector arrays and matrix:
[source lang ="C"]
const Vector4 v4Vertices[] = {{-1,-1,-1,1},{1,-1,-1,1},
{1,1,-1,1}, {-1,1,-1,1},{-1,-1,1,1},{1,-1,1,1},
{1,1,1,1}, {-1,1,1,1}};

GLint allIndices[] = {4, 5, 6, 7, 1, 2, 6, 5,
			0, 1, 5, 4, 0, 3, 2, 1,
			0, 4, 7, 3, 2, 3, 7, 6};

Vector4 v4DrawVertices[8];

Matrix4 mRot;

Here I am trying to generate the rotation matrix, and then rotate the original vertex array into a temporary one for drawing
[source lang ="C"]

mRot = getRotationMatrix(xRotate, yRotate, zRotate);

int i;
	for (i = 0; i<8; i++)
	{
		v4DrawVertices = mult(v4Vertices, mRot);
	}

glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, sizeof(Vector4), &v4DrawVertices[0].e[0]);
	glColorPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, 0, colors);

glDrawElements(GL_QUADS, 24, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, allIndices);

Here are the methods I wrote for finding the rotation matrix, and rotating the vertices (as vectors) with the matrix

__inline Matrix4 getRotationMatrix (float xRot, float yRot, float zRot)
{
	float A,B,C,D,E,F;
	float pi = 3.14159265358979323846;
	Matrix4 mOut;

A = cos(xRot*pi/180);
	B = sin(xRot*pi/180);

C = cos(yRot*pi/180);
	D = sin(yRot*pi/180);

E = cos(zRot*pi/180);
	F = sin(zRot*pi/180);

mOut.e[0] = C*E;
	mOut.e[1] = -C*F;
	mOut.e[2] = D;
	mOut.e[4] = B*D*E + A*F;
	mOut.e[5] = -B*D*F + A*E;
	mOut.e[6] = -B*C;