OpenGL: gluLookAt & gluPerspective

Started by
2 comments, last by cyberquiet 19 years ago
Hi. I'm new to OpenGL and I have problems I didnt had when i tried it in GLUT (i think i tried gluPerspective). now, in my own engine, i have problems. 1) When I use gluPerspective or gluLookAt I can't see my triangle. what can cause it? the resizing function is (for gluPerspective):
void Device::resize()
	{
		int width=win->getWidth();
		int height=win->getHeight();
		if (device==LN_OPENGL)
		{
			glViewport(0,0,width,height);
			glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
			glLoadIdentity();
			gluPerspective(45.0f,(GLfloat)width/(GLfloat)height,.1f,100.0f);
			glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
			glLoadIdentity();
		}
	}
I re-init (without releasing) opengl in the resize function for now instead of this function. This step make my window flash when i return from window mode to fullscreen mode to window mode (with opengl only. im sure this is the reason, i hope). Oh, and here is the rest opengl code:
Device d;
			// Where to put cam.update() ? (calls gluLookAt)
                        // And with what pos & vector to use so i'll see this triangle?
                        d.clear();
                        // I used to put cam.update() here in the GLUT project
			d.start();
			d.rotate(rotate,V(rotate,rotate,rotate));
			d.color(RGB(0,0,50));
			d.vertex(V(0.0,1.0,0.0));
			d.color(RGB(0,50,0));
			d.vertex(V(0.87,-0.5,0.0));
			d.color(RGB(50,0,0));
			d.vertex(V(-0.87,-0.5,0.0));
			d.finish();
			d.swap();
			rotate+=1.0;
thanks, pex. [Edited by - pex22 on April 1, 2005 8:52:17 AM]
pex.
Advertisement
The triangle vertex ordering is clockwise, this will cause the triangle to not show up if you have backface culling enabled (and front face GL_CCW).
If it's not that, the problem is more likely to be with how LookAt is called.

Hope it will help you.
--------------------------------If you can't understand what I said, it's not you, it's because my english sucks!