• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Murasaki Ryuu-jin

[web] Game Develop in Website

This topic is 4885 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I'm asking this question slightly prematurely, so I can get the right tools, as I get deeper into the web development stuff. I'm planning on starting up an online game development company. Right now, I'm still learning how to put together a website, and a video game, and brushing up on my math, as well as relevant art programs that our team would need to model if we chose to go with something more accurately defined later. Were sticking with web development because of familiarity (we're college age), ease of use, audience size, and the ability to attract an audience, even though there is a number of others out there producing online content. My question is, what platform is best suited for online development? I know about Flash MX, and know less about Java, even though its been out longer, and debated moreso, but I'd like the versatility a C/C++ would enable us to have. . . I just don't see any good options for sticking something any lower-level than VB.Net into a window on our website. Thank you.

Advertisement
By the sound of it I would lean towards Java. You'd be able to target a much larger audience. Flash would be about as good, but probably not as suitable for complicated projects (and you still need a server-side solution). With Java you can use the same codebase for the client and server.

If I understand you correctly then you want to make games that run in the browser window, right? Well, basically there are two types of games than you can make: