• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rozik

turns of a game

This topic is 4865 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi everyone:) i am kinda new to gameprogramming and all i did so far was a asteroids clone and another little game. Now i was thinking about starting something bigger. I was planing on doing something chess-like. But i am kinda confused with the game loop and how it would work to have Turns of a player and the AI. If i would pause the loop or how it would be done. Before i had menus in the games for which i used variables called Gamestate, where 1 would be the menu and 2 would be the game itself. I was wondering if someone would have any hints for me or point me somewhere where i could read up on this:) thx a lot Rozik

Advertisement
Oh boy, this is gonna be fun. But first I must ask: Are you using a class for you game? Are you using any OOP at all?
What programming language are you using?

i am using c++
for one of the two games i made i used no classes cause it was so simple,
for the other one i used a class to load bitmaps and one for the graphic attributs i.e. xloc, yloc, speed ect.

i timed the game loop to a framerate of 30fps and used a global variable to determin in wich state of the game i am in i.e. Gamestate=1 for being at the start menu

A simple way of implementing the turns is to have a currentTurn and assign 1 as the players turn and -1 as the AI's turn then change by multiplying by -1.

First of all, I recommend reading "Game Coding Complete" by Mike McShaffry. It will give you a lot of good ideas about how to design and organize game code. I'm sure there are other good books out there on the topic, but it is by far the best one I've read.